Revised British GP grid after multiple penalties

Octane Photographic
6 July 2014 by Ryan Wood | M

Nico Rosberg will start on pole position for the British Grand Prix ahead of Sebastian Vettel, but a few drivers have changed places since qualifying following a handful of penalties.

Esteban Gutierrez was handed a 10-place penalty for his unsafe release in Austria, but due to Marcus Ericsson and Kamui Kobayashi's failure to meet the 107% time, he only drops to 20th, but actually starts 19th after Pastor Maldonado was excluded.

The Venezuelan qualified 15th, but a fuel irregularity saw him excluded and he would have started last, but again the Caterham cars technically didn't qualify to race and therefore start 21st and 22nd regardless of penalties.

Max Chilton was also given a five-place penalty for changing his gearbox and drops from 13th to 17th.

The big winners are Fernando Alonso and the Williams' cars which jump forward three places each, whilst Kimi Raikkonen moves up two.

Provisional Grid - 2014 British Grand Prix

#Driver Team
01 N. Rosberg Mercedes
02 S. Vettel Red Bull
03 J. Button McLaren
04 N. Hulkenberg Force India
05 K. Magnussen McLaren
06 L. Hamilton Mercedes
07 S. Perez Force India
08 D. Ricciardo Red Bull
09 D. Kvyat Toro Rosso
10 J. Vergne Toro Rosso
11 R. Grosjean Lotus
12 J. Bianchi Marussia
13 A. Sutil Sauber
14 V. Bottas Williams
15 F. Massa Williams
16 F. Alonso Ferrari
17 M. Chilton (p) Marussia
18 K. Raikkonen Ferrari
19 E. Gutierrez (p) Sauber
20 P. Maldonado (p) Lotus
21 M. Ericsson Caterham
22 K. Kobayashi Caterham



Red Bull won't help Ricciardo with team orders


F1 set for team radio clampdown in 2015


Fiat boss criticises Di Montezemolo's comments


Billionaire Stroll looking to buy Sauber F1 Team


Wolff calls on F1 fans to stop booing drivers


Albers resigns as Caterham team principal