FIA announces F1 drivers' permanent numbers

Friday 10th January 2014, 18:19 by TF1T Staff 

Red Bull Racing

The FIA has confirmed which numbers each driver will use throughout their Formula 1 career as part of a new regulation introduced for the 2014 season.

Drivers had to submit three choices to the FIA before Christmas. If two (or more) drivers chose the same number, the highest ranked in the championship took their first choice, whilst the second driver takes their second choice, and so on.

They could choose between 2 and 99. With the number 1 being reserved for the champion. In this case, Sebastian Vettel will have the choice between number 1 or his chosen permanent number of 5.

Adrian Sutil chose the highest possible number, 99.

01 1* S. Vettel Red Bull Racing Renault
02 3 D. Ricciardo Red Bull Racing Renault
03 44 L. Hamilton Mercedes Mercedes
04 6 N. Rosberg Mercedes Mercedes
05 14 F. Alonso Ferrari Ferrari
06 7 K. Raikkonen Ferrari Ferrari
07 8 R. Grosjean Lotus Renault
08 13 P. Maldonado Lotus Renault
09 22 J. Button McLaren Mercedes
10 20 K. Magnussen McLaren Mercedes
11 27 N. Hulkenberg Force India Mercedes
12 11 S. Perez Force India Mercedes
13 99 A. Sutil Sauber Ferrari
14 21 E. Gutierrez Sauber Ferrari
14 25 J-E. Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault
16 26 D. Kyvat Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault
17 19 F. Massa Williams Mercedes
18 77 V. Bottas Williams Mercedes
19 17 J. Bianchi Marussia Ferrari
20 4 M. Chilton Marussia Ferrari
21 10 K. Kobayashi Caterham Renault
22 9 M. Ericsson Caterham Renault

* Vettel may use number '5' if he wishes.



Some of the best tweets from the Hungarian GP


Horner says Ricciardo 'riding a confidence wave'


Mercedes will allow its drivers to race freely


Caterham faces legal action from axed employees


Lauda would have done the same as Hamilton


Alonso: 'Second place tastes like a victory'