Vettel dominates Belgian GP to extend title lead

Octane Photographic
25 August 2013 by TF1T Staff | M

Sebastian Vettel dominated the Belgian Grand Prix after passing pole sitter Lewis Hamilton on the opening lap to claim the lead where he remained for the entirety of the race.

Not even a Greenpeace protest could stop the German in his efforts as he extended his lead in the championship over Fernando Alonso who finished a distant second, but crucially jumps Kimi Raikkonen in the standings after the Finn retired with a brake issue, ending his record run of 38-consecutive finishes.

Lewis Hamilton finished third ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg, the second Red Bull of Mark Webber and Jenson Button in sixth to help McLaren move ahead of Force India in the constructors' championship.

Felipe Massa and Romain Grosjean were seventh and eighth whilst Adrian Sutil finishes just ahead of Daniel Ricciardo who eventually secured the final point.

The race remained dry throughout despite early indications that it could be hit by some showers.

Race Result - 2013 Belgian Grand Prix:

01. S. Vettel Red Bull
02. F. Alonso Ferrari +16.8 18
03. L. Hamilton Mercedes +27.7 15
04. N. Rosberg Mercedes +29.8 12
05. M. Webber Red Bull +33.8 10
06. J. Button McLaren +40.7 8
07. F. Massa Ferrari +53.9 6
08. R. Grosjean Lotus +55.8 4
09. A. Sutil Force India +69.5 2
10. D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso +73.4 1
11. S. Perez McLaren +81.9
12. J. Vergne Toro Rosso +86.7
13. N. Hulkenberg Sauber +88.2
14. E. Gutierrez Sauber +1 lap
15. V. Bottas Williams +1 lap
16. G. van der Garde Caterham +1 lap
17. P. Maldonado Williams +1 lap
18. J. Bianchi Marussia +1 lap
19. M. Chilton Marussia +2 laps
20. P. di Resta Force India Retired
21. K. Raikkonen Lotus Retired
22. C. Pic Caterham Retired



Red Bull won't help Ricciardo with team orders


F1 set for team radio clampdown in 2015


Fiat boss criticises Di Montezemolo's comments


Billionaire Stroll looking to buy Sauber F1 Team


Wolff calls on F1 fans to stop booing drivers


Albers resigns as Caterham team principal