Hamilton snatches pole during frenzied session

24 August 2013 by TF1T Staff | M

Lewis Hamilton stole pole position in the final seconds of qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix to give him his fourth consecutive pole for Mercedes.

The final ten minute shoot-out was an incredibly busy session as nine of the ten cars charged out on slick tyres minus Paul di Resta who looked to have made the perfect decision as the rain fell as the light turned green.

All nine on slicks immediately returned to the pits as the Scot took the top spot and looked set to remain there until the weather changed once again.

Nico Rosberg popped up in first in the final minute, pushing Di Resta down to second, but it wasn't over as Mark Webber, then Sebastian Vettel took over the lead. However it was Hamilton, last to cross the line, who was eventually quickest.

With the top five set, it was Jenson Button who took sixth ahead of Romain Grosjean, Kimi Raikkonen, Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa.

Q2 was a straight forward affair as the rain held off, but changeable conditions in the first session saw Caterham's Giedo van der Garde and both Marussias make it through after a gamble with slicks.

The Dutch driver starts a best 14th, whilst Jules Bianch and Max Chilton start 15th and 16th respectively.

Qualifying - 2013 Belgian Grand Prix

#Driver Team Q1Q2Q3
02 S. Vettel Red Bull 2:01.863 1.48.646 2:01.200
03 M. Webber Red Bull 2:01.597 1:48.641 2:01.325
06 J. Button McLaren 2:01.301 1:48.641 2:03.075
13 S. Perez McLaren 2:02.425 1:49.304
07 R. Grosjean Lotus 2:02.476 1:48.649 2:03.081
04 N. Rosberg Mercedes 2:01.099 1:48.552 2:02.251
09 F. Alonso Ferrari 2:00.190 1:48.309 2:03.482
08 K. Räikkönen Lotus 2:01.151 1:48.296 2:03.390
01 L. Hamilton Mercedes 2:00.368 1:49.067 2:01.012
11 N. Hulkenberg Sauber 2:01.712 1:49.103
10 F. Massa Ferrari 2:01.462 1:49.020 2:04.059
05 P. di Resta Force India 2:02.338 1:48.925 2:02.332
12 A. Sutil Force India 2:02.749 1:49.103
20 V. Bottas Williams 2:03.432
18 J-E. Vergne Toro Rosso 2:03.300

19 D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso 2:03.317

17 P. Maldonado Williams 2:03.072
21 E. Gutierrez Sauber 2:04.324    
15 J. Bianchi Marussia 2:02.110 1:52.563  
16 M. Chilton Marussia 2:02.948 1:52.762  
14 G. van der Garde Caterham 2:00.564 1:52.036  
22 C. Pic Caterham 2:07.384    



Red Bull won't help Ricciardo with team orders


F1 set for team radio clampdown in 2015


Fiat boss criticises Di Montezemolo's comments


Billionaire Stroll looking to buy Sauber F1 Team


Wolff calls on F1 fans to stop booing drivers


Albers resigns as Caterham team principal