Rosberg takes surprise Bahrain GP pole

Mercedes AMG F1 Team
20 April 2013 by TF1T Staff | M

Nico Rosberg will start the Bahrain Grand Prix on pole position, just a week after his team-mate, Lewis Hamilton, secured pole in China to give Mercedes their first consecutive poles since returning to F1.

The German starts ahead of Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel who qualified just two tenths slower, whilst Fernando Alonso will occupy third.

The second Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton qualified fourth, but will incur a five-place grid penalty after the team were forced to change his gearbox.

Fifth placed Mark Webber will also start lower after the stewards awarded him a three-place drop following a collision in China last weekend.

Force India continued their impressive form with Paul di Resta setting the seventh quickest time behind Felipe Massa and ahead of team-mate Adrian Sutil.

Kimi Raikkonen admitted Lotus don't have the pace in Bahrain, which was proven on Saturday with his ninth place and Romain Grosjean's 11th.

Esteban Gutierrez starts last after a five-place drop thanks to a collision with Adrian Sutil in China.

Qualifying - 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix

#Driver Team Q1Q2Q3
02 S. Vettel Red Bull 1:33.327 1:32.746 1:32.584
05 M. Webber Red Bull 1:33.966 1:33.098 1:32.078
10 J. Button McLaren 1:34.071 1:33.702
12 S. Perez McLaren 1:34.310 1:33.914
11 R. Grosjean Lotus 1:33.498 1:33.762
01 N. Rosberg Mercedes 1:33.364 1:32.867 1:32.330
03 F. Alonso Ferrari 1:32.878 1:33.316 1:32.667
09 K. Räikkönen Lotus 1:33.827 1:33.146 1:33.327
04 L. Hamilton Mercedes 1:33.498 1:33.346 1:32.762
14 N. Hulkenberg Sauber 1:34.409 1:33.976
06 F. Massa Ferrari 1:33.780 1:33.358 1:33.207
07 P. di Resta Force India 1:33.762 1:33.335 1:33.235
08 A. Sutil Force India 1:34.048 1:33.378 1:33.246
15 V. Bottas Williams 1:34.425 1:34.105  
16 J-E. Vergne Toro Rosso 1:34.314 1:34.284
13 D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:34.120 1:33.974
17 P. Maldonado Williams 1:34.425
18 E. Gutierrez Sauber 1:34.730
20 J. Bianchi Marussia 1:36.178    
22 M. Chilton Marussia 1:36.476    
21 G. van der Garde Caterham 1:36.304    
19 C. Pic Caterham 1:35.283    



Red Bull won't help Ricciardo with team orders


F1 set for team radio clampdown in 2015


Fiat boss criticises Di Montezemolo's comments


Billionaire Stroll looking to buy Sauber F1 Team


Wolff calls on F1 fans to stop booing drivers


Albers resigns as Caterham team principal