Force India to continue with Mercedes powerin 2014 and beyond

Sahara Force India F1 Team
28 March 2013 by TF1T Staff | M

The Force India team has confirmed that they will continue to use Mercedes power in 2014 and beyond when the sport switches to new V6 turbo-charged engines.

The Silverstone based team have agreed a "long-term agreement" according to a statement, which will not only see them using the new Mercedes engine, but the new ERS, transmission and all associated ancillary systems under the new regulations.

2014 will mark the sixth season of the partnership and team principal Vijay Mallya says he couldn't think of a better supplier to continue Force India's upward trend. 

"Our new agreement with Mercedes-Benz for the coming years is the most significant in the history of Sahara Force India. With new powertrain regulations being introduced next year, I can’t think of a better partner to work with as Formula One enters a new and exciting era.

"The agreement gives us the long-term stability we require and will enable us to continue our journey towards the front of the Formula One grid."
Toto Wolff, Executive Director of Mercedes AMG added: "It is a significant milestone to announce our first long-term agreement for powertrain supply under the 2014 regulations. Sahara Force India was our first genuine customer in Formula One back in 2009 and we are delighted to enter an expanded, long-term relationship with them from 2014 onwards.

"This long-term agreement offers excellent value in terms of the balance between price and performance. We hope it will mean Mercedes-Benz and Sahara Force India working together for the entire life cycle of the new powertrain generation."

Mercedes are set to continue supplying McLaren in 2014 too, before the Woking outfit switches to Honda in 2015.



Red Bull won't help Ricciardo with team orders


F1 set for team radio clampdown in 2015


Fiat boss criticises Di Montezemolo's comments


Billionaire Stroll looking to buy Sauber F1 Team


Wolff calls on F1 fans to stop booing drivers


Albers resigns as Caterham team principal